top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHelena Palha

What you can (and can’t) do during the state of emergency

Updated: Mar 21, 2020

Life changed. Get to know the rules on what you can and cannot do during the state of emergency. Público prepared a guide.

This Thursday the government explained the rules that will be in force during the state of emergency that started in Portugal at 00:00 this Thursday. The rules start being applied today, and they will be in force for 15 days, after which they’ll be reassessed. The pandemic caused by coronavirus led the president to decree a state of emergency.

I’m contaminated or under active surveillance as determined by a health authority. Can I go out?

No. During the state of emergency isolation is mandatory for people in these conditions, whether they’re at home or in a hospital.

What might happen if I don’t abide by this imposition?

This violation will be considered a crime of civil disobedience. Authorities who identify someone in this situation will lead them home or to a hospital.

I’m over 70, so I’m part of a risk group. Can I go out?

You have a special protection duty. People in your group are advised to stay home.

Does that mean I really can’t go out?

You can. But you should only go out under very exceptional and strictly necessary circumstances, like for example to buy food or go to a pharmacy.

If I have a special protection duty, can I still go to a bank or to CTT to handle my retirement?

Yes. Those are considered very exceptional and strictly necessary situations. But if you are over 70, there are more situations where you can go out. As the prime minister explained, you can go to a health center, you can take short walks close to your place of residence, and you can take your pets for a walk. Outside of these situations, you should stay home.

What duty applies for the population in general?

There’s a duty to stay at home. That means you should avoid going out beyond the strictly necessary.

Can I go to work?

Yes, but telework is recommended to every worker who can do it.

Is there public transportation for my travel?

Yes, but the capacity will be limited. You can also travel on your own car, as gas stations will be operating.

Can I take my children out to play?

Yes. The prime-minister explained people can leave their home “to accompany minors for short periods of outdoor recreation”. But here are some ideas on how to spend time at home.

I have joint custody of my children. Can I take them over or collect them like I do at the moment?

Yes. The norms approved by the government establish that you can go out for family assistance reasons.

Can I keep helping my parents?

Yes. The government’s resolution foresees that you can go out for family assistance reasons.

Can I take my dog out?

Yes, but you should make it quick.

Can I go to a bank?

Yes. Banks are open. However, banks have advised customers to resort to online services as much as possible.

Can I jog?

Yes, you can still jog, but you should do it briefly and on your own.

Can I get my ID issued (cartão de cidadão)?

The lojas do cidadão will be closed, seeing as many people tend to gather there, and so they’d pose a higher risk. There are, however, decentralized service points.

But my ID (cartão de cidadão) has expired. Can I revalidate it?

You will not need to it until June 30th. The government informed that until that date, any driver’s license, cartão de cidadão, certificate, etc expired after February 24th will be legally accepted. The public services will operate only on an appointment basis.

Can I go for a drive?

Only if you’re driving for approved reasons. That is to say, if you are going to buy food, you can drive to a supermarket or shop.

Can I go to a shopping mall?

Except for supermarkets or newsstands selling products that are considered to be essential such as food, drink, newspapers and tobacco, shopping malls will be closed.

Will bakeries, grocery shops and pharmarcies be open?

Yes, these can stay open. António Costa declared that “establishments selling goods or services essential to people’s life can, and should, stay open”.

Can I go to a café?

You may not find any open. The government recommended catering trade to close public-facing service, while recognizing it can continue to operate without opening spaces where customers would gather.

Can I order food?

Yes. Restaurants won’t have public-facing service, but take-away and home deliveries are incentivized by the government.

Can I go out to go to a supermarket?

Yes. You can go out to buy food products to take home. There will, however, be limitations to the number of customers allowed inside an establishment, and it’s recommended to resort to more protected ways of selling, like for example selling goods at the door.

Can I organize or attend a funeral?

Yes. But there are limitations. There will be specific measures when it comes to organization to ensure there are no gatherings.

Can I attend a church service?

Any religious services or cult celebrations implying a gathering are forbidden. There are online alternatives. For example, the Patriarchate of Lisbon’s website has a schedule of online broadcast services.

If I don’t follow these norms, what might happen to me?

If that happens, authorities will carry out a pedagogical fiscalization, explaining the rules to anyone who doesn’t respect them.

223 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bank of Portugal predicts GDP fall of 3,7% this year

Even in a scenario of “relatively limited” impact, the central bank estimates there will be a strong recession this year, with unemployment rising to numbers above 10%. The negative effects could be p

Lisbon prepares a field hospital with 500 beds

The structure should be ready on Saturday to receive coronavirus-free patients who are now at Hospital de Santa Maria, so as to ensure there are more available beds for covid-19 patients. Original te

bottom of page